The best AI coding plan for $20 or less
Data as of · Last verified against vendor · Page updated
Short answer (as of 16 Oct 2026): Ordered by the lowest published monthly figure, the paid plans at $20 or under are Cursor Plus and ChatGPT Go at $8, then Copilot Pro at $10, then Claude Pro (the cell also lists $17 annual), ChatGPT Plus and Devin Pro at $20. Free rows are $0. “Best” here is not a quality ranking. No plan has five moderated reports, so yield is not scored.
PlanYield, 'The best AI coding plan for $20 or less', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/best/ai-coding-plan-under-20/
How this list is ordered: lowest number in the price cell, then name. Official, secondary and unverified rows keep their badges. See methodology.
| Plan | $/mo | Limits | Resets | Overage | Reports | Status · source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CodexChatGPT FreePlanYield, 'ChatGPT Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-free/ | $0/mo | GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app | Not stated | n/a | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CursorCursor FreePlanYield, 'Cursor Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/cursor-free/ | $0/mo | Limited agent + chat requests | Weekly | n/a | No reports yet | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| DevinDevin FreePlanYield, 'Devin Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/devin-free/ | $0/mo | Light quota, limited models, unlimited Tab/inline edits | DailyWeekly | n/a | No reports yet | Partly verified docs.devin.ai ↗checked |
| CopilotGitHub Copilot FreePlanYield, 'GitHub Copilot Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/copilot-free/ | $0/mo | 2,000 completions + 50 chat requests / month | Monthly | n/a | No reports yet | Verified github.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT GoPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Go', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-go/ | $8/mo | GPT-6 Luna, lightweight tasks | Not stated | Not stated | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CursorCursor PlusPlanYield, 'Cursor Plus', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/cursor-plus/ | $8/mo | Basic usage pool (1x); Grok models only | Weekly | Top-offs (price not stated) | No reports yet | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| CopilotGitHub Copilot ProPlanYield, 'GitHub Copilot Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/copilot-pro/ | $10/mo | $15/mo AI Credits total ($10 base + $5 flex); completions unlimited | WeeklyMonthlyCredits | Paid usage at $0.01/credit with budget | No reports yet | Verified github.com ↗checked |
| Claude CodeClaude ProPlanYield, 'Claude Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-pro/ | $1720 monthly / 17 annual ($200/yr) | >=5x Free per 5h session; weekly limits on top; no fixed message count | 5h windowWeekly | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in) | No reports yet | Verified claude.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT PlusPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Plus', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-plus/ | $20/mo | Local msgs per 5h (estimates): GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000; weekly limits may apply | 5h windowWeekly | Buy ChatGPT credits (e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50/2.5/250 credits per 1M in/cached/out); or API key | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| Claude CodeClaude TeamPlanYield, 'Claude Team', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-team/ | $2020 annual / 25 monthly (Standard); 100 annual / 125 monthly (Premium) | Standard > Pro; Premium = 5x Standard | 5h windowWeekly | Extra usage | No reports yet | Partly verified claude.com ↗checked |
| DevinDevin ProPlanYield, 'Devin Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/devin-pro/ | $20/mo | Daily + weekly quota (size unpublished); covers Devin Cloud, CLI, Desktop | DailyWeekly | On-demand credits at API pricing, roll over, never expire | No reports yet | Verified docs.devin.ai ↗checked |
Cursor vs Claude Code · Claude Code vs Codex · Cursor vs Copilot
FAQ
What is the lowest paid price on the scoreboard?
As of 16 Oct 2026, Cursor Plus and ChatGPT Go are both $8 per month. Copilot Pro is $10. That is the seed, after the Cursor page was re-checked the same day.
Does this page rank code quality?
No. The order is the published price. Community yield is hidden because every plan has fewer than 5 moderated reports.