Cursor vs Codex: every plan by price, usage and limit window
Data as of · Rows checked on vendor pages – · Page updated
Short answer (as of 31 Oct 2026): Cursor: Cursor Free ($0), Cursor Plus ($8), Cursor Premium ($30), Cursor Super ($100), and Cursor Ultra ($200). Codex: ChatGPT Free ($0), ChatGPT Go ($8), ChatGPT Plus ($20), ChatGPT Pro 100 ($100), ChatGPT Pro 200 ($200), and ChatGPT Pro 500 ($500). Both have a plan at $0, $8, $100, and $200.
Cursor Free, Cursor Plus, Cursor Premium, Cursor Super, and Cursor Ultra record a weekly limit; ChatGPT Free and ChatGPT Go record no stated limit window; ChatGPT Plus records a 5-hour window and weekly limits that may apply; ChatGPT Pro 100, ChatGPT Pro 200, and ChatGPT Pro 500 record no 5-hour limit and a weekly limit. No moderated reports compare real yield.
PlanYield, 'Cursor vs Codex: every plan by price, usage and limit window', updated 31 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/compare/cursor-vs-codex/
Every one-person plan by price
| Product | Plan | Price | Published usage | Limit windows | Latest change | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cursor | Cursor Free | $0 a month | Limited agent + chat requests | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Yes Row: Shared Cursor+Grok pool, refreshes weekly | None logged | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| Codex | ChatGPT Free | $0 a month | GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Not listed Row: Not stated | Codex Day 23 is a usage reset, the twelfth of the program Vendor post on X | Verified openai.com ↗checked |
| Cursor | Cursor Plus | $8 a month | Basic usage pool (1x) | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Yes Row: Shared Cursor+Grok pool, weekly refresh | Cursor plans move to an X Subscription lineup Vendor page | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| Codex | ChatGPT Go | $8 a month | GPT-6 Luna, lightweight tasks, standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Not listed Row: Not stated | Codex Day 23 is a usage reset, the twelfth of the program Vendor post on X | Verified openai.com ↗checked |
| Cursor | No Cursor plan at $20 | — | Nearest Cursor plans: Cursor Plus ($8) and Cursor Premium ($30). Legacy Pro ($20/mo) stays with existing subscribers until they switch or cancel; Cursor lists Premium ($30/mo) as the closest current tier. | — | — | Verified cursor.com ↗checked cursor.com ↗legacy plans checked |
| Codex | ChatGPT Plus | $20 a month | Local msgs per 5h (estimates): GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6.1 Terra 35-285, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000 | 5-hour: Yes Weekly: May apply Row: 5-hour window + possible weekly; Fast mode uses included usage at 2.5x | Codex Day 23 is a usage reset, the twelfth of the program Vendor post on X | Verified chatgpt.com ↗checked |
| Cursor | Cursor Premium | $30 a month | 4x Plus pool | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Yes Row: Weekly refresh; third-party models billed at API list price | Cursor plans move to an X Subscription lineup Vendor page | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| Codex | No Codex plan at $30 | — | Nearest Codex plans: ChatGPT Plus ($20) and ChatGPT Pro 100 ($100). | — | — | Verified chatgpt.com ↗checked |
| Cursor | Cursor Super | $100 a month | 15x Plus | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Yes Row: Weekly refresh | Cursor plans move to an X Subscription lineup Vendor page | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| Codex | ChatGPT Pro 100 | $100 a month | Pro 100: doubled on 29 Oct (US) Usage multiple 10x Plus: reported (5x Plus in coverage, doubled on 29 Oct per OpenAI’s Help Center), not stated on OpenAI’s pages. Earlier (reported): 5x Plus. Weekly size not published. | 5-hour: None Weekly: Yes Row: Weekly; Fast mode 2.5x, Ultrafast (Pro 500 only) 8x included usage | OpenAI doubles ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium limits; Pro 200 cut cancelled Vendor post on X | Partly verified openai.com ↗checked |
| Cursor | Cursor Ultra | $200 a month | 50x Plus | 5-hour: Not listed Weekly: Yes Row: Weekly refresh | Cursor plans move to an X Subscription lineup Vendor page | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| Codex | ChatGPT Pro 200 | $200 a month | Pro 200: cut cancelled, every Pro 200 subscriber now on the higher allowance (reported 20x Plus before the cut) Earlier (reported): 10x Plus (20x for some to 29 Oct). Weekly size not published. | 5-hour: None Weekly: Yes Row: Weekly; Fast mode 2.5x, Ultrafast (Pro 500 only) 8x included usage | OpenAI doubles ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium limits; Pro 200 cut cancelled Vendor post on X | Partly verified openai.com ↗checked |
| Cursor | No Cursor plan at $500 | — | Nearest Cursor plans: Cursor Ultra ($200). | — | — | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| Codex | ChatGPT Pro 500 | $500 a month | Pro 500: 50x Plus since 29 Oct (US), reported by OpenAI's Codex lead on X Earlier (reported): 25x Plus. Weekly size not published. | 5-hour: None Weekly: Yes Row: Weekly; Fast mode 2.5x, Ultrafast (Pro 500 only) 8x included usage | OpenAI doubles ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium limits; Pro 200 cut cancelled Vendor post on X | Partly verified openai.com ↗checked |
Price against usage multiples
- Cursor Premium: 4x Plus for 3.75x the Cursor Plus price ($30 against $8), or $7.50 a month per 1x Plus.
- Cursor Super: 15x Plus for 12.5x the Cursor Plus price ($100 against $8), or $6.67 a month per 1x Plus.
- Cursor Ultra: 50x Plus for 25x the Cursor Plus price ($200 against $8), or $4.00 a month per 1x Plus.
- ChatGPT Pro 100: 10x Plus, reported (5x Plus in coverage, doubled on 29 Oct per OpenAI’s Help Center), for 5x the ChatGPT Plus price ($100 against $20), or $10.00 a month per 1x Plus. The row is partly verified.
- ChatGPT Pro 200: 20x Plus, reported (coverage of the allowance before the cut), for 10x the ChatGPT Plus price ($200 against $20), or $10.00 a month per 1x Plus. The row is partly verified.
- ChatGPT Pro 500: 50x Plus, reported (OpenAI’s Codex lead on X), for 25x the ChatGPT Plus price ($500 against $20), or $10.00 a month per 1x Plus. The row is partly verified.
PlanYield arithmetic on the listed prices and on each vendor’s multiples, not measured usage. Multiples are published by the vendor unless the line says “reported”; a reported multiple comes from a vendor staff post or coverage, not the vendor’s own page. Each vendor states its multiples against its own base plan, so a per-1x figure from one vendor does not convert into another vendor’s.
Team plans
| Plan | Price | Limits | Resets | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cursor Teams | $30, $100 or $200 per seat/mo | Premium, Super or Ultra seats (4x, 15x or 50x Plus), mixable on one team; Plus not available; free seats have no team allowance | Weekly pool per seat (not shared between seats; pooling is Enterprise-only) | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| ChatGPT Business | Standard $20/user/month billed annually or $25 monthly; Premium $100/user/month billed annually or $125 monthly (2+ seats; seat types can be mixed) | Standard: same 5h estimates as Plus; Premium: 5x Standard usage before 29 Oct 2026 (US), when OpenAI doubled Business Premium limits; no 5-hour limit | Standard: 5h + weekly; Premium: weekly only | Verified openai.com ↗checked |
What is not claimed
PlanYield has no moderated usage reports, so this page does not say which plan lasts longer in a real week, and it does not rank code quality. Published usage is quoted from each row; the vendors measure it in different units.
Recent changes
Cursor
- Cursor plans move to an X Subscription lineup Vendor page
Codex
- OpenAI doubles ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium limits; Pro 200 cut cancelled Vendor post on X
- ChatGPT Pro and Business add monthly OpenAI API credits Vendor page
- Codex Day 23 is a usage reset, the twelfth of the program Vendor post on X
Limits: Codex usage limits · Cursor usage limits
Plans: All Cursor plans · All OpenAI Codex plans
Related: ChatGPT Pro $100 vs $200 vs $500
Decision pages: All decision pages · $100 vs $200 plans · How to check your usage
Dataset licence: CC BY 4.0.
FAQ
Which Cursor and Codex plans cost the same?
At $0: Cursor Free and ChatGPT Free. At $8: Cursor Plus and ChatGPT Go. At $100: Cursor Super and ChatGPT Pro 100. At $200: Cursor Ultra and ChatGPT Pro 200. Only Cursor has a plan at $30. Only Codex has a plan at $20 and $500.
What limit windows do Cursor and Codex use?
Cursor Free, Cursor Plus, Cursor Premium, Cursor Super, and Cursor Ultra record a weekly limit; ChatGPT Free and ChatGPT Go record no stated limit window; ChatGPT Plus records a 5-hour window and weekly limits that may apply; ChatGPT Pro 100, ChatGPT Pro 200, and ChatGPT Pro 500 record no 5-hour limit and a weekly limit. Each row’s reset rule is quoted in the table.
What happens past the Cursor and Codex limits?
Cursor Plus (Cursor’s lowest paid plan): Top-ups (prepaid credit, valid 365 days) at Cursor-model token rates, e.g. Grok 4.7 $2 in / $6 out per 1M tokens, Composer 2.5 $0.50 / $2.50. ChatGPT Plus (the lowest-priced Codex plan whose row states an overage): Buy ChatGPT credits (e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50/2.5/250, GPT-6.1 Terra 25/1.25/125 credits per 1M in/cached/out).
What changed most recently for each?
Cursor: 13 Oct 2026 (SGT), Cursor plans move to an X Subscription lineup. Codex: 30 Oct 2026 (SGT), OpenAI doubles ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium limits; Pro 200 cut cancelled.
Do Cursor plans include third-party models?
Not Cursor Plus: its row says “no third-party models, Auto, Cloud Agents or own API keys”. Cursor Premium says “third-party models NOT included in pool”, and its overage line bills third-party models from the first request at API list price. Cursor Super and Cursor Ultra carry the same overage line.