PlanYield Get the Monday diff
Scoreboard / OpenAI Codex / ChatGPT Free
Codex Verified

ChatGPT Free: limits, price and real-world yield

Codex on the ChatGPT Free plan.

Data as of · Last verified against vendor see this row · Page updated

Short answer (as of 16 Oct 2026): ChatGPT Free is $0 per month. Published limits: GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app. Reset rule: Not stated. Overage: n/a. PlanYield has no moderated community reports for this plan yet, so no real-yield number is shown.

PlanYield, 'ChatGPT Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-free/

$0/moUSD, excl. tax · checked
Limits
GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app
How limits reset
Not stated

Not stated

Overage
n/a
Source
developers.openai.com ↗checked verified

Community reports

No reports yet for this plan.

Real-world numbers (hours before a limit, tasks per week) will appear here once at least 5 moderated reports exist.

Median hours to limit—
Hit a limit this week—
Reports0
Report your usage

Change history (OpenAI)

  1. GPT-5.5 leaves Codex ChatGPT sign-in

    GPT-5.5 retired from Codex ChatGPT sign-in

    Verified developers.openai.com ↗
  2. ChatGPT Pro adds a $500 tier

    New $500 Pro; Pro 200 reopens with lower allowance (grandfathered move after 2026-10-29)

    Secondary limitsheet.com ↗
  3. Codex 5-hour limit removed, then restored for Plus

    Codex 5h limit temporarily removed (restored for Plus 2026-08-26)

    Secondary digitalapplied.com ↗
  4. Codex moves to token credits

    Codex moved to token-based credits

    Secondary digitalapplied.com ↗

FAQ

How much does ChatGPT Free cost?

As of 16 Oct 2026, ChatGPT Free is $0 per month. Source: developers.openai.com. PlanYield status: verified. Data as of 16 Oct 2026.

What limits does ChatGPT Free publish?

As of 16 Oct 2026, the recorded limits are: GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app. Source: developers.openai.com. PlanYield status: verified. Data as of 16 Oct 2026.

What happens when you hit the ChatGPT Free limit?

The recorded overage term is: n/a. Source: developers.openai.com. PlanYield status: verified. Data as of 16 Oct 2026. PlanYield has no moderated reports of real overage spend yet.