The cheapest AI coding plans, ranked by what you get
Data as of · Last verified against vendor · Page updated
Short answer (as of 16 Oct 2026): The lowest paid prices in the seed are ChatGPT Go and Cursor Plus at $8 per month, then GitHub Copilot Pro at $10. Free tiers are Cursor, ChatGPT, Copilot and Devin at $0, with the limits written on each row. Cursor Plus was re-checked at $8 on 16 Oct 2026. “Works” is not a quality score: the order is the price, and the limit text is quoted from the seed. Yield is not ranked.
PlanYield, 'The cheapest AI coding plans, ranked by what you get', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/best/cheapest-ai-coding-plan/
How this list is ordered: lowest number in the price cell, then name. Official, secondary and unverified rows keep their badges. See methodology.
| Plan | $/mo | Limits | Resets | Overage | Reports | Status · source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CodexChatGPT GoPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Go', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-go/ | $8/mo | GPT-6 Luna, lightweight tasks | Not stated | Not stated | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CursorCursor PlusPlanYield, 'Cursor Plus', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/cursor-plus/ | $8/mo | Basic usage pool (1x); Grok models only | Weekly | Top-offs (price not stated) | No reports yet | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| CopilotGitHub Copilot ProPlanYield, 'GitHub Copilot Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/copilot-pro/ | $10/mo | $15/mo AI Credits total ($10 base + $5 flex); completions unlimited | WeeklyMonthlyCredits | Paid usage at $0.01/credit with budget | No reports yet | Verified github.com ↗checked |
| Claude CodeClaude ProPlanYield, 'Claude Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-pro/ | $1720 monthly / 17 annual ($200/yr) | >=5x Free per 5h session; weekly limits on top; no fixed message count | 5h windowWeekly | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in) | No reports yet | Verified claude.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT PlusPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Plus', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-plus/ | $20/mo | Local msgs per 5h (estimates): GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000; weekly limits may apply | 5h windowWeekly | Buy ChatGPT credits (e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50/2.5/250 credits per 1M in/cached/out); or API key | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| Claude CodeClaude TeamPlanYield, 'Claude Team', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-team/ | $2020 annual / 25 monthly (Standard); 100 annual / 125 monthly (Premium) | Standard > Pro; Premium = 5x Standard | 5h windowWeekly | Extra usage | No reports yet | Partly verified claude.com ↗checked |
| DevinDevin ProPlanYield, 'Devin Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/devin-pro/ | $20/mo | Daily + weekly quota (size unpublished); covers Devin Cloud, CLI, Desktop | DailyWeekly | On-demand credits at API pricing, roll over, never expire | No reports yet | Verified docs.devin.ai ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT BusinessPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Business', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-business/ | $2525/user monthly (annual lower, not captured) | Same 5h estimates as Plus (Standard) | 5h windowWeekly | Workspace credits | No reports yet | Partly verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CursorCursor FreePlanYield, 'Cursor Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/cursor-free/ | $0/mo | Limited agent + chat requests | Weekly | n/a | No reports yet | Verified cursor.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT FreePlanYield, 'ChatGPT Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-free/ | $0/mo | GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app | Not stated | n/a | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CopilotGitHub Copilot FreePlanYield, 'GitHub Copilot Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/copilot-free/ | $0/mo | 2,000 completions + 50 chat requests / month | Monthly | n/a | No reports yet | Verified github.com ↗checked |
| DevinDevin FreePlanYield, 'Devin Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/devin-free/ | $0/mo | Light quota, limited models, unlimited Tab/inline edits | DailyWeekly | n/a | No reports yet | Partly verified docs.devin.ai ↗checked |
Cursor vs Claude Code · Claude Code vs Codex · Cursor vs Copilot
FAQ
What is the cheapest paid plan in the seed?
ChatGPT Go and Cursor Plus, both $8 per month as of 16 Oct 2026. Copilot Pro is next at $10.
Are the free tiers unlimited?
No. Each free row records a small allowance, from limited Cursor requests to 50 Copilot chat requests a month. Read the row before treating a free plan as enough.