Claude Code vs Codex: limits and value, plan by plan
Data as of · Last verified against vendor see each row · Page updated
Short answer (as of 16 Oct 2026): Claude Pro and ChatGPT Plus are both $20 per month. Claude uses a 5-hour window plus a weekly cap and publishes no message count. ChatGPT Plus lists Codex message estimates per 5 hours, including 15–160 for GPT-6.1 Sol, and says a weekly limit may apply. ChatGPT Pro’s row says it has no 5-hour limit currently. There is no community yield yet, so this is a comparison of published rules, not of measured output.
PlanYield, 'Claude Code vs Codex: limits and value, plan by plan', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/compare/claude-code-vs-codex/
Claude Code and Codex
Claude Code
| Plan | $/mo | Limits | Resets | Overage | Reports | Status · source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude CodeClaude ProPlanYield, 'Claude Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-pro/ | $1720 monthly / 17 annual ($200/yr) | >=5x Free per 5h session; weekly limits on top; no fixed message count | 5h windowWeekly | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in) | No reports yet | Verified claude.com ↗checked |
| Claude CodeClaude Max 5xPlanYield, 'Claude Max 5x', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-max-5x/ | $100/mo | 5x Pro per 5h session; Fable model capped at 50% of weekly limits; $100/mo API credits | 5h windowWeekly | Usage credits at API rates | No reports yet | Verified claude.com ↗checked |
| Claude CodeClaude Max 20xPlanYield, 'Claude Max 20x', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/claude-max-20x/ | $200/mo | 20x Pro per 5h session; $200/mo API credits | 5h windowWeekly | Usage credits at API rates | No reports yet | Verified claude.com ↗checked |
Codex
| Plan | $/mo | Limits | Resets | Overage | Reports | Status · source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CodexChatGPT FreePlanYield, 'ChatGPT Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-free/ | $0/mo | GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app | Not stated | n/a | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT GoPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Go', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-go/ | $8/mo | GPT-6 Luna, lightweight tasks | Not stated | Not stated | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT PlusPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Plus', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-plus/ | $20/mo | Local msgs per 5h (estimates): GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000; weekly limits may apply | 5h windowWeekly | Buy ChatGPT credits (e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50/2.5/250 credits per 1M in/cached/out); or API key | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT ProPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-pro/ | $100100 / 200 / 500 | No 5-hour limit currently; weekly may apply; Ultrafast only on $500 | Weekly | Credits | No reports yet | Partly verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
What is not claimed
PlanYield has no moderated reports (n=0), so this page does not say which plan lasts longer in a real week, and it does not rank code quality.
Limits: Claude Code limits · Codex usage limits
Related: Cursor vs Claude Code: which plan gives you more? · Claude Max vs ChatGPT Pro: the $100–$500 coding plans · GitHub Copilot vs Claude Code
Decision pages: Plans at $20 or less · $100 vs $200 plans
FAQ
Is Claude Pro or ChatGPT Plus more expensive?
As of 16 Oct 2026, both list $20 per month. Claude Pro also lists $17 per month when billed annually. ChatGPT Go lists $8.
Does Codex still have a 5-hour limit?
The Plus row still records a 5-hour window. The Pro row says there is no 5-hour limit currently. A secondary entry says the 5-hour limit was removed on 12 Jul 2026 and restored for Plus on 26 Aug 2026.