Codex usage limits by ChatGPT plan
Data as of · Last verified against vendor see each row · Page updated
Short answer (as of 16 Oct 2026): Codex on ChatGPT Plus records local-message estimates per 5 hours, including 15–160 for GPT-6.1 Sol, and says weekly limits may apply. The Pro row says there is no 5-hour limit currently, and that a weekly limit may still apply. The 12 Jul 2026 change says the 5-hour limit was removed and later restored for Plus on 26 Aug 2026. That July entry is a secondary source. No moderated usage reports are published yet.
PlanYield, 'Codex usage limits by ChatGPT plan', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/limits/codex/
Key numbers
- ChatGPT Plus is $20 per month. The 5-hour estimates are labelled estimates in the seed (developers.openai.com/codex/pricing, status verified).
- ChatGPT Go is $8 per month. ChatGPT Free is $0. The seed says their limit mechanics are not stated.
- ChatGPT Pro is one row at $100 / $200 / $500, with no 5-hour limit currently.
- Fast mode is recorded as 2.5x included usage and Ultrafast as 8x, on the Plus row.
- A 14 Oct 2026 verified entry says GPT-5.5 was retired from Codex ChatGPT sign-in.
Limits by plan
| Plan | $/mo | Limits | Resets | Overage | Reports | Status · source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CodexChatGPT FreePlanYield, 'ChatGPT Free', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-free/ | $0/mo | GPT-6 Luna, standard speed, desktop app | Not stated | n/a | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT GoPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Go', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-go/ | $8/mo | GPT-6 Luna, lightweight tasks | Not stated | Not stated | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT PlusPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Plus', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-plus/ | $20/mo | Local msgs per 5h (estimates): GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000; weekly limits may apply | 5h windowWeekly | Buy ChatGPT credits (e.g. GPT-6.1 Sol 50/2.5/250 credits per 1M in/cached/out); or API key | No reports yet | Verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT ProPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Pro', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-pro/ | $100100 / 200 / 500 | No 5-hour limit currently; weekly may apply; Ultrafast only on $500 | Weekly | Credits | No reports yet | Partly verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
| CodexChatGPT BusinessPlanYield, 'ChatGPT Business', updated 16 Oct 2026, https://planyield.dev/plans/codex-chatgpt-business/ | $2525/user monthly (annual lower, not captured) | Same 5h estimates as Plus (Standard) | 5h windowWeekly | Workspace credits | No reports yet | Partly verified developers.openai.com ↗checked |
Changes that moved the limit
14 Oct 2026 GPT-5.5 leaves Codex ChatGPT sign-in · 29 Sep 2026 ChatGPT Pro adds a $500 tier · 12 Jul 2026 Codex 5-hour limit removed, then restored for Plus · 2 Apr 2026 Codex moves to token credits
Related comparisons
Claude Code vs Codex: limits and value, plan by plan · Claude Max vs ChatGPT Pro: the $100–$500 coding plans
FAQ
What does the Codex usage limits by ChatGPT plan page measure?
Codex on ChatGPT Plus records local-message estimates per 5 hours, including 15–160 for GPT-6.1 Sol, and says weekly limits may apply. The Pro row says there is no 5-hour limit currently, and that a weekly limit may still apply. The 12 Jul 2026 change says the 5-hour limit was removed and later restored for Plus on 26 Aug 2026. That July entry is a secondary source. No moderated usage reports are published yet.
Are community usage numbers included for ChatGPT Free?
No. As of 16 Oct 2026, every plan on this page has zero moderated reports. Yield stats stay blank until a plan has at least 5.